Theos September 2016

Sept. 2016. (from left to right): N. Hörmann, M. Gibertini, J. Moraes de Almeida, A. Cepellotti, S. Zoupanos, L. Kahle, N. Marzari, S. Waychal, D. Campi, T. Sohier, G. Pizzi, N. Mounet, M. Cococcioni, N. L. Nguyen, N. Varini, I. Timrov, A. Marrazzo, A. Marcolongo, S. Bienvenue, G. Prandini, N. Colonna, P. Leroux, M. Simoncelli.

Previous group pictures

Group Leader
THEOS Management
MARVEL Management
Senior Scientists
Graduate Students
Postdoctoral Fellows
Application Support Specialists and Software Engineers
Master Thesis Students
  • Martin Stencel, EPFL and Prague University (from Mar 2017)
  • Norma Rivano, University of Cagliari (from Mar 2017)
  • Francesco Libbi, Politecnico di Torino (from Apr 2017)
  • Farzad Rezaeianaran, EPFL (from Apr 2017)
  • Chiheb Ben Mahmoud, CentraleSupélec Paris (from May 2017)
  • Simran Kumari, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Kolkata (from Jun 2017)
  • Tommaso Chiarotti, University of Trieste (from July 2017)
  • Kejia Cui, EPFL (from Sept 2017)
Guest students

  • Dr. James Moraes de Almeida (PostDoc 2015-2017)
  • Dr. Ngoc Linh Nguyen (PostDoc 2012-2017)
  • Pierre Jean Francois Leroux (Master thesis student - Autumn 2016)
  • Sébastien Pierre Bienvenue (Master thesis student - Autumn 2016)
  • Przemyslaw Juda (Master thesis student - Autumn 2016)
  • Thanh Phong Lê (Master thesis student - Autumn 2016)
  • Mathieu Lempen (Master thesis student - Autumn 2016)
  • Dr. Andrea Cepellotti (PhD student Nov 2011 - March 2016, PostDoc until Nov 2016)
  • Abel Carreras Conill (visiting professor, Sept-Oct 2016)
  • Prof. Filippo de Angelis (visiting professor, Apr 2016 - May 2016)
  • Marco Coco (visiting PhD student, Apr 2016 - Oct 2016)
  • Dr. Riccardo Sabatini (postdoc 2013-2014 and visitor 2014-2016, now at Human Longevity)
  • Daniele Dragoni (PhD student, Oct 2011 - Apr 2016)
  • Anand Chandrasekaran (PhD student, Jan 2012 - Feb 2016)
  • Daniel Marchand (visiting master student, Jun 2015 - Dec 2015)
  • Dr. Víctor Manuel García Suárez (visiting researcher, Sep 2015-Nov 2015)
  • Dr. Nongnuch Artrith (visiting Schlumberger fellow, May 2015-Aug 2015)
  • Augustin Bussy (bachelor semester project, Spring 2015; master semester project, Fall 2015; master thesis, Spring 2016)
  • Jocelyn Boullier (master semester project, Fall 2015)
  • Dr. Ivano Castelli (EPFL Fellow, Sep 2014 - Aug 2015, now postdoc at U. of Copenhagen)
  • Vojislav Đukić (visiting bachelor student, Jul 2015 - Sep 2015)
  • Sri Krishna Vadlamani (visiting bachelor student, IIT Mumbai, May 2015-Jul 2015)
  • Alvaro Charlet (master semester project, Spring 2015)
  • Philippe Schwaller (master semester project, Fall 2014; master semester project, Spring 2015; master thesis, Spring 2016))
  • Bruno Hadenque (master semester project, Fall 2014)
  • Dr. Giovanni Borghi (postdoc, Jan 2012 - Jan 2015, now postdoc at U. of Modena and Reggio Emilia)
  • Dr. Emine Küçükbenli (postdoc, Feb 2012 - Nov 2014, now postdoc at SISSA, Trieste)
  • Valentin Bersier (master semester project, Spring 2014)
  • Christopher Schmitt (master semester project, Spring 2014)
  • Dr. David Daniel O'Regan (postdoc Oct 2011 - Dec 2013, now assistant professor at Trinity College Dublin)
  • Dr. Céline Dupont (visiting postdoc Jan 2012 - Dec 2013, now chargée de recherche CNRS et Université de Bourgogne)
  • Léo Duchêne (master semester project, Fall 2013)
  • Leonid Kahle (master semester project, Fall 2013; master semester project; Spring 2014, master thesis, Spring 2015)
  • Sanghamitra Mukhopadhyay (M.Sc. U. of Oxford, Sep 2011)

[2007 to 2011 to be updated]

  • Dr. Timo Thonhauser (DMSE, visiting scientist: Aug 2006 - Jul 2007, research associate: Aug 2007 - Jul 2008), Assistant Professor, Department of Physics, Wake Forest University
  • Dr. Ismaila Dabo (DMSE, graduate student 2002-2007), Postdoctoral researcher, Ecole Nationale des Ponts et Chaussées (Paris, France).
  • Dr. Brandon Wood (DMSE, graduate student 2001-2007), NSF Postdoctoral researcher, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (Bangalore, India).
  • Dr. Arash Mostofi (DMSE, postdoc Oct 2005 - Aug 2007), Lecturer (i.e. Assistant Professor), Department of Physics, and Department of Materials, Imperial College (London, UK).
  • Dr. Young-Su Lee (DMSE, graduate student 2001-2006, postdoc Aug 2006 - Aug 2007), Senior Research Scientist, Korea Institute of Science and Technology (Seoul, South Korea).
  • Dr. Boris Kozinsky (Physics, graduate student), Research Scientist, Bosch GMBH (Cambridge, MA).
  • Dr. Francesca Baletto (DMSE, postdoc May 2006 - Jul 2007), Lecturer (i.e. Assistant Professor), Department of Physics, King's College (London, UK).
  • Chen Li (Physics, undergraduate UROP Spring 2007), Graduate student, Physics Department, Cornell University.
  • Dr. Patrick Sit (Physics, graduate student 2002-2006), Postdoctoral researcher with Prof M. Klein, University of Pennsylvania.
  • Michael Tambe (DMSE, graduate student 2006), Graduate student, Prof. Silvija Gradecak, DMSE.
  • Dr. Manu Sharma (DMSE, short-term postdoc Sep 2005 - Dec 2005), Postdoctoral researcher with Prof. G. Galli, University of California Davis.
  • Krzystof Niemkiewicz (high school RSI Scholar, Summer 2006).
  • Janet Ryu (DMSE, undergraduate UROP, Sep 2005 - May 2006).
  • Adam Chao (Physics, undergraduate UROP, Sep 2005 - Jan 2006).
  • Dr. Paolo Umari. (DMSE, postdoc Jan 2004 - Dec 2005), Research scientist, Democritos National Simulation Center, and Elettra synchrotron (Trieste, Italy).
  • Dr. Damián Scherlis (DMSE, postdoc May 2002 - Sep 2005), Research scientist, CONICET and Departamento de Quimica Inorganica, University of Buenos Aires.
  • Giacomo Ferrari (Dublin Jerome High School, Dublin OH, Summer 2005).
  • Dr. Cody Friesen (DMSE, graduate student). Assistant professor, Arizona State University.
  • Dr. Mayeul d'Avezac (Physics, Paris VI, visiting graduate student, Jan 2004 - Sep 2004), Postdoctoral researcher with Dr. Alex Zunger (NREL).
  • Caleb Ng (high school RSI Scholar, Libertyville High School, Summer 2004),cUndergraduate student, Caltech
  • Mikael Rechtsman (Physics, undergraduate, May 2002 - May 2003), Graduate student with Prof. Sal Torquato and Prof. Frank Stillinger (Physics, Princeton University).
  • Ann Chi (high school RSI Scholar, Terre Haute South Vigo High School, Summer 2003), Undergraduate student, Harvard University.
  • Luke Shulenburger (Physics, undergraduate, Spring 2002), Graduate student with Prof. Richard Martin (Physics, UIUC).